Sign in to follow this  
firemalt

Best way to lineup vinyl on a CE5000?

Well, I've run about 10 yards of vinyl through my CE5000 this morning, and still haven't figured out the best way to make it track endlessly.

The grooves help, and the roll claps help... but whats the secret to getting everything lined up, quickly?

BTW... this things cuts like a freaking dream. At first when I was doing a "test" cut, I was getting a little concerned cause the little square/triangle looked crappy. Then I noticed I had been jacking with the settings for the pen, not the blade. Once I figured that out, there wasn't any stopping me!

Glad I made the purchase, and wish I would of done it sooner... much sooner!

Guest fivestar

Use the grooves.......and make sure the roll is straight with the front of the vinyl.  Use the down arrow to feed some vinyl through and you'll catch right on.  At least that's the way I do it, I'm no expert with this cutter yet, but I did cut a 182" piece without it moving a fraction of an inch and that's the way I did it.  There might be an easier way.  Also on the measurements Roll 1 measures width plus starting point, Roll 2 measures only width and Sheet measures width plus length. 

Yeah... I like using the "Roll1" measurements cause it take it back to the edge of the vinyl. What I have been doing was pulling out about 2 feet of material past the blade, lining it up with one of the grooves, clamping it down, then adjusting the stops on the rolls, and finally pushing "enter" on the Roll1 to see if it's lined up... if not, do it all over again. urgh... but don't get me wrong, I love this new cutter! :o