Sign in to follow this  
dohickey

Software

Hi everyone,

First time posting on the board thogh I have been reading for a while.

I bought a US Cutter Refine 24" plotter. I'm not crazy about the software that came with it and was wondering what is considered the best plotter software package.

Thanks for your help.

Sorry, I got SignBlazer06. The application seems capable, but I hate the interface (and a couple of issues) and was looking for alternatives.

I'm an IT pro and I would prefer a menu/selection system that was a lot more straight forward.

I also had some issues with it crashing just trying to navigate through directories because it could generate a thumbnail of certain EPS or AI files.

Thanks for replying!

I run a full-time sign shop. I have always used Flexi which everyone in the business I talk to says is the best. So far, I haven't found anything that I can't do just as well in Signblazer as I could in Flexi,or just as easily.

This is cutting software... I have tried about all of the apps available and I don't think you are going to find what you want. They all operate basically the same.

In short, you have good software. Give it some time. Take the time to get to know it.

Or you could spend $2000  or more,only to find out that they are all about the same,as far as interface.

In my opinion,SignBlazer is the best available for the money,or for any amount of money.

Thanks BannerJohn. That was the sort of opinion i was looking for. This is the only plotter app I have ever used.

Is there another skin available that could tone it down just a bit? I haven't looked for one yet.

No idea about the skins.

here's the deal. I do signs. I open SignBlazer, it allows me to set the size of the sign (say,2x6 feet). I design the sign within the work space...Cut it....couldn't be easier. For a sign person,that is. Depending on what you want to do with it, I really don't know what you want it to look like.